Shadowhunters Book Series: A Fantasy World to Trap You In

Shadowhunters book series is adult fantasy novels written by Cassandra Clare. The books brilliantly introduce Nephilim (shadowhunters) and other mythical creatures to the readers.

Her urban fantasy novels, sprinkle with young romance, which sets in fantasy yet realistic world have succeeded in gaining a lot of fans from the youngsters. In addition, Cassandra Clare has her own unique writing style that has its own appeal; given the fact that she used to write a fan fiction story based loosely on Harry Potter and The Lord of the Ring.

The Shadowhunters Chronicle

Shadowhunters book series is a fantasy world where mythical creatures, fairies, demons, warlocks, werewolves, and vampires live among mundanes (human). The Nephilim, also known as Shadowhunter, is there to keep the other creatures from attacking mundane.

The book series have five main novels- The Infernal Devices, The Last Hours, The Mortal Instruments, The Dark Artifices, and The Wicked Powers; with the last two have yet to be published.

For new readers of the Shadowhunters book series who have just started the series, may be confuse about which series they should begin with. However, the stories in each series tell different characters with their own mysterious and intriguing problem, so it won’t be a big problem for the readers to follows the events unfolding before them.

There are many options that the readers can choose about where they want to start the journey. They can follow the publication order, which start from the City of Bones of The Mortal Instruments installment and end it with Cassandra’s latest book installment, The Last Hour. If the readers want to follow the series order, it is best to start from The Mortal Instruments series and then its sequel The Dark Artifices, and then The Infernal Devices.

Maybe you also like:
Game of Thrones Books in Order: How Throne Matters
The Last Witch Hunter Book: An Epic War

The Novel Series Plot Summaries

The Mortal Instruments is the very first series that Cassandra Clare published and has six series. It follows the story of Clary Fray, a mundane who hasn’t realized that she has a blood of angle.

A mysterious kidnapping of her mother leads Clary into the world of two wars; the first one is against her mother ex-husband, Valentine Morgenstern, who wants to steal the Mortal Cup which has the power to turn a mundane into a Nephilim. The second war is with Jonathan Morgenstern, who is the son of Valentine.

The second installment of Shadowhunters book series is The Infernal Devices. These books focus on Tessa Gray’s story sets in 1878. This girl comes to London upon receiving her brother’s invitation. There, she is pulled into the world of shadow once she finds out that she is indeed a warlock.

The third series of the book is The Dark Artifices which is the sequel of The Mortal Instrument. This time, the books center on the Shadowhunter, Emma Carstairs, who is looking for an answer behind her parents’ death which is full of mysteries.

Then come The Last Hours installment. It is an upcoming trilogy by Cassandra Clare and will be the sequel to The Infernal Devices trilogy. The first series of the novels will be published next year. It is worth to read Shadowhunters book series.